Home » 2016 Summer Movie Preview » 2016 Summer Movie Preview: June

2016 Summer Movie Preview: June

I hope everyone had a great Memorial Day; meeting with families and having a good barbecue. Like every summer, it is off to a good start. I have finished my second year of college almost a month ago. I am about to have one busy schedule. The month of June has a lot of movies to look forward to including one that looks completely bizarre yet I am dying to see something original. Here are my thoughts on what has yet to come out this month.

June 3

TMNT-2

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows – Michael Bay returns to produce the sequel to the 2014 hit film. Taking Jonathan Liebesman’s place as director is Dave Green (Earth to Echo). I am neither a TMNT fan nor have I seen the television show from the 1990s. Its predecessor looked, more or less, like a Transformers wannabe (not to mention Shredder looking more like a Decepticon). Like I said before two years ago, I would rather eat a whole pizza than wasting two hours of my life.

Me-Before-You

Me Before You – Hyped up to be the summer’s biggest romance, Me Before You sounds like your typical tearjerker. A man who is paralyzed from a motorcycle accident falls in love with a woman. This might be the only time they will ever spend time together. From the trailer alone, it just oozes with sap. Who knows? Maybe this will come as a surprise. For now, I’ll just wait for to rent from Redbox. It’s great to see Matthew Lewis (Neville Longbottom from Harry Potter) in it though.

popstar

Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping – Andy Samberg can be really funny. He was one of SNL’s biggest standouts. Along with his Lonely Island co-members, he makes some really funny-as-hell songs (e.g. “Jizzed in My Pants”). But, this satire of the pop music industry doesn’t look funny at all. I can’t get the image of seeing a CGI baby playing the drums out of my head. I wouldn’t be surprised if this succeeds or fails in the box office.

June 10

conjuring_two

The Conjuring 2 The Conjuring was a breath of fresh air. James Wan brings the creepy atmosphere into the real-life story of the Warrens (played to perfection by Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga) investigating a haunting in Harrisville, Rhode Island. Any cheap scares? Not in that case.

Now, the Warrens go across the Atlantic Ocean to investigate a poltergeist in Enfield, England. It became the most famous case in paranormal history. I’m glad to hear early positive reception about the movie. I’m ready to have shivers sent down my spine and getting scared once again.

now_you_see_me_two

Now You See Me 2 – I have never seen the first film. And I have zero interest seeing either of them. I prefer seeing practical magic tricks rather than rendered through CGI. The story of four illusionists pulling off a heist sounds ridiculous to the core. No, thank you!

warcraft

Warcraft – I am shocked to hear a lot of negative reception Warcraft received so far. Evem Alonso Duralde of TheWrap.com said, “Think Battlefield Earth without the verve, or the unintentional comedy” (ouch!). As a non-gamer like myself, the previews for this movie (based on the game Warcraft: Humans and Orcs) had the feeling of Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings (which are my all-time favorite movies). From what I’ve heard, a lot of video game movies of the past sucked big time (except Prince of Persia, which I thought it was okay). Given the fact it’s directed by Duncan Jones (Moon, Source Code), I seriously want it to be good.

June 17

finding_dory

Finding Dory – Ah, yes! The long-awaited sequel to 2003’s Finding Nemo is finally hitting the silver screen! It looks like PIXAR is back in the mix of things after last year’s masterpiece Inside Out. This looks like another emotional roller coaster ride. I can’t wait for this as well as some others by PIXAR. I’m hoping a teaser for Coco will be attached with Finding Dory.

central_intelligence

Central Intelligence – As much as I love Dwayne Johnson and dislike Kevin Hart, I don’t know how I feel about this movie. There are some jokes in the preview that made me laugh, but others feel stale. I don’t know if I should laugh or cry about Dwayne Johnson in the fat suit.

clown

Clown – I understand how many people are truly terrified of clowns. I am not one of them. Seeing Eli Roth listed as one of the producers in the red band preview before The Witch back in February, this definitely looks like an Eli Roth movie, fair and square. Originally a fake horror trailer, Roth and its director Jon Watts extend the idea of a mythical clown suit that won’t come off once somebody puts in on. It actually sounds fascinating. It might pull off well.

June 24

independence_day_resurgence

Independence Day: Resurgence – Twenty years ago, everyone fought a group of aliens trying to take over the Earth while on the verge of extinction. Not surprisingly, the aliens are back with a vengeance. Independence Day was the biggest box-office hit of 1996 and redefined the disaster genre. Roland Emmerich is returning to the director’s chair as well most of the original stars such as Jeff Goldblum, Brent Spiner, Vivica A. Fox, Bill Pullman. And also some newcomers including Liam Hemsworth. As much as I enjoyed the first film, this looks like it will just as fun. It’s a shame Will Smith is not in the sequel.

FSOJ

Free State of Jones – Matthew McConaughey is one of my favorite actors. Free State of Jones looks like this will be another great performance to add in his repertoire. This brings the true story of a Mississippi farmer leading a rebellion against the Confederacy during America’s bloodiest war to life under the direction of Gary Ross (Seabiscuit, The Hunger Games). This looks brutal as it is gorgeous.

swiss_army_man

Swiss Army Man (in select theaters; expanding nationwide July 1) – Not only is this is my most anticipated movie of the summer, it’s also my most anticipated movie of the entire year! During its premiere at this year’s Sundance Film Festival, a lot of people started walking out within the first twenty minutes of the movie. Perhaps they were not ready for a movie featuring a bizarre story following a castaway using a flatulent corpse as a survival tool (compared to a swiss army knife) including using it as a jet ski with the farts to be propelled forward. As a result, it became the festival’s most controversial film ever.

Paul Dano and Daniel Radcliffe are two of the best actors working today. They are about to be in a movie unlike anything they have ever been in before. Writing the screenplay in the Sundance lab, Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (who are dubbed as “The Daniels”) put a lot of deep thought about farts. A24 is on a role here! I’ll be surprised if this movie gets a lot of attention from the Academy, even though this is one of those movies that a lot of people might walk out of. But, I think Adam Chitwood of the Collider said it best: “In a world filled with reboots, remakes, franchises, sequels, ‘interconnected universe’ movies, and even predictable dramas, it’s refreshing—almost overwhelmingly so—to see something so different.”

neon_demon_ver2

The Neon Demon – Another movie I am mixed with. Nicolas Winding Refn (Drive, Only God Forgives) creates this bizarre tale of modern-day fashion in Los Angeles. Elle Fanning has come a long way. This might be her most mature role yet. As gorgeous as this movie looks, I have a feeling this will turn to be garbage.

shallows

The Shallows – This will make people think twice about going swimming into the ocean once again. Fresh from directing last year’s solid thriller Run All Night, Jaume Collet-Serra directs its main star Blake Lively struggling to survive on a rock close to shore while a great white shark circles around her. Of course, the shark is computer-generated, but it looks so real it’s scary. I’m thrilled to see this!

Recap:

Most Anticipated: The Conjuring 2, Finding Dory, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Swiss Army Man, Warcraft

Least Anticipated: Now You See Me 2, Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows

I hope you enjoyed reading on what my thoughts are on several movies for the month of June. Tell me in the comments below on what your most anticipated movies are. Stay tuned for a movie preview for the month of July at the end of this month. Take care.

Leave a Reply

