Home » 2015 Summer Movie Preview » 2015 Summer Movie Preview: July

2015 Summer Movie Preview: July

Two months down. Two to go. This summer had a variety of great movies, especially Inside Out. I’ve seen it three times already and I can’t wait to see it again and again until it heads out of the theater and hit the DVD shelves. But, it’s time to talk about what has yet to come in July.

I apologize for being late doing this. I recently spent a week in Illinois mainly to see my brother graduate from NAVY boot camp (I’m very happy for him). Now I am back in Maine to give you my thoughts on several upcoming movies for the month of July. Let’s do this!

July 3

terminator-genisysTerminator: Genisys (came out July 1) – It’s awesome to see Arnold Schwarzenegger [literally] back in the spotlight. Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like it would hold up for how bland it looks. I’ve yet to see any of the original Terminator films – particularly Terminator and Terminator 2: Judgement Day – but I prefer watching those movies over this one. Nothing is creepier than seeing a CGI Arnold. James Cameron tells us that we’ll love this movie. In my opinion, it would be the exact opposite.

magic_mike_xxlMagic Mike XXL (came out July 1) – I would not be surprised if the sequel to the sleeper hit Magic Mike would make a lot of money this weekend. I’m pretty sure a lot of women will have as big of a ball as last time watching male strippers do what they do. Channing Tatum has come a long way after his horrendous performance in the G.I. Joe movies (I’m glad he got killed off early in G.I. Joe: Retaliation). This looks like it would be fun.

July 10

minionsMinions – I’m one of the few people who is not a big fan of the first Despicable Me. Other than the gorgeous animation, I found the jokes lacking and the characters dull (Steve Carell’s Hungarian accent didn’t do it for me), it didn’t make me laugh that much. And I skipped the sequel. I have to admit, the minions easily stole the show. Everyone wished for a spin-off featuring these delightful characters. Guess what? Their wishes came true! I don’t think this highly anticipated spin-off/prequel to Despicable Me looks any great, but it looks pretty damn funny. Not to mention the three main characters remind me so much of Moe, Larry and Curly (“The Three Stooges”). It’s interesting to see Sandra Bullock portraying a villainess.

the-gallowsThe Gallows – The found-footage horror genre enters an empty high school at night. An evil has lurked after a freak accident occurred during a play. A group of students go around to investigate. The previews look like it’s pretty atmospheric (given that it’s R-rated because of it, which is super rare). I have a bad feeling this would turn out to be garbage. We’ll play it by ear.

selflessSelf/Less – This looks like a massive step-up for Tarsem Singh after his visually stunning but narratively lackluster Mirror Mirror (that movie can suck it): a futuristic sci-fi thriller. It involves a wealthy businessman who has cancer and decides to go under a procedure that changes his appearance to make him look younger. But this procedure is not what it appears to be. I like a good sci-fi. Let’s hope this delivers.

boulevardBoulevard – After his death last year, it’s hard not to choke up watching a movie starring Robin Williams. He has been under the spotlight for more than 40 years improvising, doing stand-up routines, making people laugh, and delivering serious performances. He even won an Oscar for his astounding role in Good Will Hunting. Being his last acting role, Boulevard seems to be a great send-off for Williams. People have been praising his performance! I cannot wait!

July 17

ant-manAnt-Man – Marvel is in its third phase in their cinematic universe. Funnyman Paul Rudd stars in a more serious role as the titular role who wears a suit that has the power to make him shrink into ant-size. I like the looks of this movie, but I’m curious how Edgar Wright would have played it out before Peyton Reed entered the director’s chair. The effects look reminiscent to Honey, I Shrunk the Kids. It might be as entertaining as the other superhero movies.TrainwreckTrainwreck – A comedy that has been getting unanimous praise prior to its release. And I could definitely see why. Directed by Judd Apatow (The 40-Year-Old Virgin, Knocked Up, Funny People, This is 40), starring two funny people (Amy Schumer and Bill Hader), and countless celebrity cameos. Also, the jokes – from the preview ­­­­– made me laugh quite a bit.mr_holmesMr. Holmes – Played by countless actors including Robert Downey Jr., Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller, Sherlock Holmes is one of the most popular detectives of all-time. This year, director Bill Condon makes a version of Holmes unlike anything we’ve ever seen before. He’s played by Sir Ian McKellen. At the age of 93, he goes around England to investigate one final mystery. I would be a fool missing this one out.irrational-manIrrational Man – We all know how much we hate Woody Allen as a person. But more than half of the movies he makes – including Annie Hall and Blue Jasmine – are some of the best movies ever made. His new movie follows a professor who goes through an existential crisis who bonds with one of his fellow students. I like Joaquin Phoenix and Emma Stone (star of last year’s decent but charming Magic in the Moonlight), but this looks like a standard entry in Woody Allen’s repertoire.

July 24paper-townsPaper Towns – Based on the book by John Green (author of The Fault in our Stars, which became a massively successful adaptation last year), Paper Towns follows a love story turned into a mystery. This is mainly a mystery for teens and young adults. Nat Wolff (star of The Fault in our Stars) and Cara Develegne look like they had great chemistry in what seems to be a funny and mysterious film. Hell, this looks better than The Fault in our Stars. Cannot wait for this and Looking for Alaska (I’ll have plenty of time to read that).pixelsPixels – It’s rare for anyone to look forward to a movie starring Adam Sandler. I personally liked his stuff on Saturday Night Live and some of his movies (Billy Madison, Happy Gilmore, Funny People). Other than that, I hate Adam Sandler with a passion. I’m glad he worked with a better director this time; Chris Columbus (Home Alone, Home Alone 2: Lost in New York, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets) alongside Kevin James, Josh Gad, Peter Dinklage, among others. How can a movie involving aliens in the form of retro video game characters taking over the world not get you stoked? This is one of the most ridiculously entertaining concepts I’ve ever heard for a movie!southpawSouthpaw – As I like to call it: “Raging Bull for the new generation”. Jake Gyllenhaal got huge for the role of a heavyweight boxer fighting for his life to get custody of his child. It looks like Antoine Fuqua (Training Day, Olympus Has Fallen, The Equalizer) has made an emotionally tense character study.the-vatican-tapesThe Vatican Tapes – This sounds so much like a direct-to-DVD crap-fest. Mark Neveldine, who directed Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance, cannot direct to save a life. I can’t imagine anyone watching his movies and not get a headache. The camera would not even stand still! Here’s some advice: MOUNT THE CAMERA ON A TRIPOD, FOR GOD’S SAKE!

July 31vacationVacation (in theaters July 29) – I rather watch the original 1983 Vacation starring Chevy Chase over this pile of tripe. Even Chris Hemsworth’s awkwardness doesn’t make it any funnier.mission-impossible-rogue-nation

Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation – Ethan Hunt is one of the best action movie heroes and Mission: Impossible is one of my favorite movie franchises. Even Mission: Impossible 2 is a guilty pleasure of mine. He and his short hair are back to go on another globe-trotting mission. It amazes how no other actor can pull off perilous stunts like Tom Cruise. Yes, he was actually hanging on that cargo airplane door. Looking for a good time. Let’s hope Christopher McQuarrie steps up after directing Jack Reacher.the-end-of-the-tourThe End of the Tour – A hit at this year’s Sundance, this movie follows a journalist interviewing a writer for the Rolling Stone. This showcases Jesse Eisenberg and Jason Segel in what seems to be the performances of their careers. I love movies like these where they only involve people talking rather than mindless explosions.

Recap:
Most Anticipated: Boulevard, The End of the Tour, Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation, Mr. Holmes, Paper Towns, Pixels
Least Anticipated: Terminator: Genisys, Vacation, The Vatican Tapes

I hope you all enjoyed what my thoughts on upcoming movies for July are. Please feel free to leave comments on what you are looking forward to this July. Stay tuned at the end of this month as I give my thoughts on what has yet to come in the month of August. Take care.

Leave a Reply

